Fifteen aspirants disqualified in ER


The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has disqualified 15 parliamentary aspirants who filed to contest on the ticket of the party in the Eastern Region.

The disqualified aspirants were part of 79 individuals who filed to contest the party’s primaries on April 25, 2020.

Key among the disqualified aspirants were Dr Philip Addison, who led the NPP legal team in the 2012 Election Petition and Dr William Adjei Twumasi, who both wanted to contest the Akuapem North seat.

The seat is currently occupied by Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah.

Among the disqualified aspirants were Barifi Opare Addo, Akuapem South; Dr Oppong Adabo; Akim Swedru; Edward Kwaku Aboagye, Akim Oda; Eric Ofori Agyarko, Kafui Cudjoe Amega, Dr Frank Baning and Adade Wiredu, all in Atiwa East.

The rest are Dr Samuel Owusu Akyem, Atiwa West; Moro Sakyiama Yakubu and Freeman Ofori Agyarko, Fanteakwa North; Frank Mireku Ahemah, Abirem and Gloria Ofori Boadu, Abuakwa South.


According to the Eastern Regional Secretary of the party, Mr Jeff Konadu Addo, a detailed report and reasons for disqualification would be sent to the national headquarters of the party for consideration and final approval.

Meanwhile, the Daily Graphic gathered that the disqualification of the aspirants was as a result of their inactivity and lack of contributions to the growth of the party in their constituencies.

A member of the vetting committee, who wanted to remain anonymous, said due diligence was followed and that the vetting of all aspirants was done without fear or favour.

“We followed the rules governing the process and we are optimistic that those who were disqualified will accept the decision in good faith since we are all in a family and that is not the end of the world”, the source said.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button